tains the nation's primary physical standards. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in International Scientific Unions. Patentable inventions developed in the Council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited (see p. 146). The National Research Council consists of a president, three vice presidents, and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. The Council is incorporated under the Research Council Act (RSC 1952, c. 239, as amended), and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry in his capacity as Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 (RSC 1952, c. 196) to provide power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the Act was amended in 1950 to give the Commission authority to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission (formerly the Northwest Territories Power Commission) was changed in 1956. It is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

The Commission operates three hydro-electric plants in the Northwest Territories (two on the Snare River near Yellowknife and one on the Taltson River near Fort Smith) and two hydro plants in the Yukon Territory (one on the Yukon River at Whitehorse and the other on the Mayo River near Mayo). Diesel-electric plants are operated at Fort Smith, Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and at Field, B.C.; diesel-electric power and central heating plants at Inuvik and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and Moose Factory, Ont.; and water supply and sewerage systems at Inuvik and Moose Factory. The Commission also operates in the Northwest Territories, on behalf of the Department, diesel-electric plants at Fort McPherson and Aklavik, heating plants at Fort McPherson, Fort Simpson and Frobisher Bay, and domestic water supply and sewerage systems at Fort McPherson, Fort Simpson and Frobisher Bay.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a Company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed and western Arctic. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was incorporated in 1942 by Letters Patent and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c.133) and the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c.116). Its head office and plant are located at Sarnia, Ont., where it produces synthetic rubbers, latices, resins and related products. Subsidiary operations for the production of butyl and specialty rubbers are located in Belgium and France, respectively, and an international marketing subsidiary is located in Switzerland. The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Science Council of Canada.—The Act establishing the Science Council of Canada (SC 1966, c. 19) received assent on May 12, 1966. The Council is to consist of not more than 25 members each having a specialized interest in science or technology and four associate members chosen from among officers or employees of the Federal Government. Members hold office for not more than three years and associate members hold office during pleasure. All are appointed by the Governor in Council. The duties of the Science Council are to assess in a comprehensive manner Canada's scientific and technological resources, requirements and potentialities and to make recommendations thereon. The Council reports to Parliament through the Prime Minister.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1952, c. 242) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Crown corporation, Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited, is subsidiary to the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The Authority is composed of a president, a vice president and a member, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Unemployment Insurance Commission.—The Commission was appointed on Sept. 24, 1940 under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1940 (RSC 1952, c. 273). It is composed of three commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council, of whom one is designated chief commissioner. One commissioner, other than the chief commissioner, is appointed after consultation with organizations representative of workers and the other after consultation with organizations representative of employers. The Chief Commissioner is appointed to hold office for a period of ten years and each of the other Commissioners to hold office for a period not exceeding ten years. The Commission is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.